Ask a question Report

Xp auto log off [Solved/Closed]

wooty 4Posts Monday September 1, 2008Registration date September 9, 2008Last seen - Latest answer on Oct 26, 2012 02:44PM
Hello,
ive recently hit a snag, my windows xp boots up as usual to the log on screen, as soon as i imput my password, windows will play the log on sound and then just automatically log me off again, ive had many attempts to try and get windows to stay running including booting from CD and repair, but unsuccesful.
is there another way, a friend of mine suggested trying to activate the guest account at the log on screen, but i have no knowledge how and neither does he, will this rectify the problem for now?
i am planning on getting a new pc soon, but need access to my user account as there are many important documents for my work on it as well as 10Gb of music that i dont want to see vanish
any and all help is greatly appreciated, thank you
Read more 
Answer
+276
moins plus
Edit these values and type the correct path of shell :

Shell = explorer.exe
Userinit=X:\windows\system32\userinit.exe

NOTE: These files may also be deleted by spywares. You may need to extract them using Windows CD.

Steps for rectifying this problem:

Log on to a networked computer.
Run Regedit.exe
Point your cursor to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
Select File > Connect Remote Registry
Type computer name (infected computer)
Navigate to the following location in registry of destination or infected computer

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

Edit these two values in right pane:

Shell
Userinit

Change these two values to
Shell=explorer.exe
Userinit = x:\windows\system32\userinit.exe
Exit from Registry
Restart Infected computer.
You should be able to log on to computer.
if it not work then go to back steps and just copy orwrite the file userinit.exe

workded successfully tested 100 percent gauranted

WAQAR GILGITI

sawuku965- Apr 19, 2010 08:03AM
Hi it worked for and Thx
It fanatastic to my PC back working.