XP system Crashed on Dell Latitude D510

Closed
Eagle24 - Feb 21, 2015 at 11:27 AM
BrianGreen Posts 1005 Registration date Saturday January 17, 2015 Status Moderator Last seen September 30, 2021 - Feb 21, 2015 at 09:00 PM
Hello,
My Dell laptop runs on XP and crashed. I'd like to recover some data that I didn't have saved on an external drive. I am a novice, so if someone can walk me through the steps to do this I would really appreciate it. I have a blue screen that continues to appear each time I try to restart. I have the XP startup disk in the drive, but it won't access it on startup. The message says to uninstall any anti-virus, disk defrag or backup utilities, but I don't know how to get to a command prompt from here. I've tried typing "r", as suggested on another post, during the startup, but it keeps going to the blue screen. Please help!

Related:

1 response

BrianGreen Posts 1005 Registration date Saturday January 17, 2015 Status Moderator Last seen September 30, 2021 150
Feb 21, 2015 at 11:37 AM
Hi Eagle24,

Does the machine come up with an error code on the blue screen. Its normally towards the bottom and starts 0x******** (the stars represent numbers)

Also is the XP startup disk a full Windows installation disk, or a Dell installation disk?
Yes, it says STOP: 0x00000024 (0x00190203, 0x82F39C50, 0xC0000102, 0x00000000). The disk is a Window XP Professional service pack version 2002.
BrianGreen Posts 1005 Registration date Saturday January 17, 2015 Status Moderator Last seen September 30, 2021 150
Feb 21, 2015 at 01:40 PM
Thats good for me :)

Can you start in safe mode? To get there repeatedly press the [f8] key immediately after powering on. You will be presented with the Advanced Startup Menu. When there navigate to Safe Mode With Command Prompt.

It will do loads of scrolling of text and hopefully start in safe mode. Icons will look odd, but we are looking for a black box wits a flashing curser in it. when there type
chkdsk /r