Black screen after motherboard installation

Closed
crandolf1089 - Feb 23, 2011 at 04:21 PM
Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 - Feb 24, 2011 at 04:26 PM
Hello,

Earlier this month my motherboard died after 3 years of almost constant gaming, It took a few weeks to get up the money but I ordered a new motherboard. Yesterday I received my new ASUS M4A785-M Motherboard via ups. I proceeded to install my new motherboard

Everything seemed to be going fine until the boot up reached the start up screen with the windows 7 logo forming, after that the screen was black with my cursor on it.

I Also noticed by the size of the cursor was very large probably from the low resolution. This is my first time installing a new mobo, so if there is anything ambiguous that you think im missing please tell me .

Related:

5 responses

Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 11,168
Feb 23, 2011 at 04:37 PM
Hello Crandolf

We are missing some info here

Can you boot in safe mode?

Can you command prompt?

Did you install your new motherboard drivers?

Before installing a new board, you must insure to have all the drivers in the system.

Regards
I can't boot into safe mode, I can't access command prompt because I cant log into windows (unless there is a way to access it through BIOS which I don't) and I don't have the drivers installed because I can't log into windows.
i meant that I dont now about a way to access command prompt through BIOS
Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 11,168
Feb 23, 2011 at 05:42 PM
crandolf,

I meant if you could access command prompt by pressing the windows key or ctr+alt+del.

Is your new motherboard different make and model than the previous?

Have you downloaded the drivers before the installation?