Using offset with vlookup

Closed
Mike - Jul 28, 2009 at 02:33 PM
venkat1926 Posts 1863 Registration date Sunday June 14, 2009 Status Contributor Last seen August 7, 2021 - Jul 29, 2009 at 08:24 PM
Hello,
I am relatively new with macros, and would appreciate some help with a formula. Sheet 1 has my property names (in column A) and I wish to pull data into column B relating to those properties from sheet 2 . Can you help me with a formula for cell B1 on Sheet 1? I want to go to sheet 2 for a given property and sum the values on begining five rows down and two columns to the right of the reference for 3 consecutive columns. My attempt
=Sum(OFFSET(VLOOKUP(A1,'Sheet2'!A1:K350,1,FALSE),5,2,1,3)) fails.

In certain situations, I do not want to sum - just select up a number related to that property. Again, assuming that number I want is 6 rows down and 12 columns to the right, the formula
=OFFSET(VLOOKUP(A1,'Sheet2'!A1:K350,1,FALSE),6,12) fails

I believe tha issue is that the vlookup reference is on one sheet and the offset properties belong to another sheet. I would appreciate any help.

2 responses

venkat1926 Posts 1863 Registration date Sunday June 14, 2009 Status Contributor Last seen August 7, 2021 811
Jul 28, 2009 at 08:49 PM
I think vlookup and offset only picks up only the value and not the cell address.you can have a macro. post a small extract of sheet and sheet 2 , if necessary, with fictitious data
Sorry - not smart enough to take an extract to show you a readable example.
I was able to identify one of the formulas - the one that retrieves a single cell from Sheet 2 (3 rows down and 12 columns to the right) of the cell that matches C8 in Sheet 1. A victory for me to be sure. It may not be the most efficient, but it works. If there is a better way, I'd love to hear of it.
=INDEX(Sheet2!$F$3:$Z$300,MATCH(C8,Sheet2!$F$3:$F$300,0)+3,12)