Copying formula for multiple worksheets

Solved/Closed
Michelerj Posts 2 Registration date Tuesday June 9, 2020 Status Member Last seen June 9, 2020 - Jun 9, 2020 at 10:07 AM
TrowaD Posts 2921 Registration date Sunday September 12, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen December 27, 2022 - Jun 11, 2020 at 11:53 AM
I use ASAP utilities to insert multiple worksheets using a template. I'd like to create a formula that automatically inserts sequencial numbers. Ex: Sheet 1, cell A10, number starts with 1600. I want Sheet 2, cell A10, automatically insert 1601, Sheet 3, 1602, etc. I'm new with all this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

2 responses

TrowaD Posts 2921 Registration date Sunday September 12, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen December 27, 2022 552
Jun 9, 2020 at 12:12 PM
Hi Michel,

Not sure that can be done with a formula, so here is a code:
Sub RunMe()
Dim ws As Worksheet, x As Integer

For Each ws In Worksheets
    ws.Range("A10").Value = 1600 + x
    x = x + 1
Next ws
End Sub

I did assume that you want to add a number in A10 on ALL sheets AND that all sheet are in order.

How to implement and run a code:

- From Excel hit Alt + F11 to open the “Microsoft Visual Basic” window.
- Go to the top menu in the newly opened window > Insert > Module.
- Paste the code in the big white field.
- You can now close this window.
- Back at Excel, hit Alt + F8 to display the available macro’s.
- Double-click the macro you wish to run.
NOTE: macro’s cannot be reversed using the blue arrows. Always make sure you save your file (or create a back up to be entirely sure) before running a code, so you can re-open your file if something unforeseen happens or you want to go back to the situation before the code was run.

Best regards,
Trowa
Michelerj Posts 2 Registration date Tuesday June 9, 2020 Status Member Last seen June 9, 2020
Jun 9, 2020 at 12:29 PM