Transferring information from previous spreadsheet

Solved/Closed
JoDWil Posts 3 Registration date Saturday February 28, 2015 Status Member Last seen March 1, 2015 - Feb 28, 2015 at 08:06 PM
skreechy Posts 7 Registration date Tuesday March 31, 2015 Status Member Last seen April 7, 2015 - Apr 7, 2015 at 04:32 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a junior doctor from Australia, and I'm trying to use excel to make my ward management a more efficient process! Everyday we get new patients on the ward, but most patients are the same from the day before. For the patients that are the same, I want to be able to transfer over the patients background and issues list from the previous days spreadsheet, as these would not change.

Heres a screenshot of what I'm going for... The first two columns are all worked out, and are easily updated by copying the hospital's online patient list into a template. The history and issues however are not part of the hospital's online database, (as I'm the one who figures that out once the patient is admitted and unfortunately we still use a paper system to record notes).

As the bed numbers change day to day, and I have up to 40 patients, its just too hard to go through the list and copy paste! Instead is there a way for me to make excel link a patients name/ patient number/ DOB in a current spreadsheet, with the background and issues from the day before's spreadsheet, and let auto transfer the right patients history/issues to the new spreadsheet?

Would greatly appreciate any suggestions!
Thank you!

7 responses

skreechy Posts 7 Registration date Tuesday March 31, 2015 Status Member Last seen April 7, 2015
Mar 31, 2015 at 12:05 PM
HI,

Great info here, I'm relatively new to Excel, but i know it does what I want, it's just getting to that point

Is there a way to change this so it automatically moves the data over to the 2nd sheet (patient info) based on there being a value in the patient info field?