Facebook "This page can't be displayed"

Closed
prof.dboyd Posts 3 Registration date Wednesday October 15, 2014 Status Member Last seen October 16, 2014 - Oct 15, 2014 at 07:34 PM
 prof.dboyd - Oct 21, 2014 at 03:57 PM
My laptop suddenly stopped giving me access to Facebook last night. I had been using Facebook and email for a while and left both loaded while I went to another room for a while. When I returned Facebook was not working. I tried reloading it and got an immediate message:
"This page can't be displayed"
I have rebooted several times, shut down and restarted, returned to Windows default settings, reloaded Flash Player, etc. etc. All to no avail. The message is still instant when I try to access Facebook. Everything else seems to be working fine.
I have IE11, Windows 7. It was upgraded today. I've been running it on this computer for over 2 years with no previous significant problems.

Can anyone help?

8 responses

prof.dboyd Posts 3 Registration date Wednesday October 15, 2014 Status Member Last seen October 16, 2014 1
Oct 16, 2014 at 12:05 PM
No, ac3mark. My wife sits beside me on her PC logged into her account ... not mine. Since mine stopped working on my PC I can log into it on her machine and see my FB account but then I log off.
Our configuration has worked for years ..... her on her PC, me on mine ..... working side by side off the same server. Just suddenly, FB quit working on my machine. Everything else works fine and I can get into my account on other machines. It's got to be something about my PC & software. But I didn't change anything. It just suddenly locked me out.
Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 11,172
Oct 16, 2014 at 05:13 AM
Hi

Download, install and run this tool which will delete all of your temporary files and cookies, then try connecting to Fb:

https://ccm.net/downloads/security-and-maintenance/4555-ccleaner/