Excel Macro - Dynamic Column Selection

Solved/Closed
kunalp Posts 1 Registration date Tuesday December 9, 2008 Status Member Last seen December 9, 2008 - Dec 9, 2008 at 10:59 PM
 maggie - Mar 4, 2010 at 10:24 PM
Hello,

I am just beginning to learn Excel macros. I was working on a sheet wherein I have to select a column dynamically, based on just the column header name. Let me explain.

Say there is an Excel Sheet which contains the following columns (from A1 to D1):

RecNo Cust_ID Cust_Name Contact_Num

Below these, there is customer data which is present. Now, I want to extract just the Cust_ID (from Column B) and Cust_Name (from Column C) for all the records.

However, the problem is that it is not necessary that Cust_ID would always be in Column B. Though the heading would always be Cust_ID, its location could change to Column C in some other sheet that has been generated and Cust_Name could instead have been present in Column B (the two columns that need to be extracted have been interchanged).

Using the match function, I am able to determine the position of the column, but after that I am not able to select that column. The function I have used to determine the column number is given below:

WorksheetFunction.Match("Cust_ID", Range("A1:D1"), 0)

Can someone please help?
Related:

2 responses

I have created something like this.

Consider this:

The last row of the spreadsheet should have values 1 & 0. make a sweep through the bottom row, select all 1s and hide all 0s.

If you need more help on code, reply.
yes pls , can you help me with this
' Determining datasheet range.
Dim lngLastRow As Long
Dim lngLastCol As Long
Dim varDataSelect As Variant

' Select rows and columns range dynamically.
Selection.End(xlDown).Select
lngLastRowNum = ActiveCell.Row
Selection.End(xlToRight).Select
lngLastCol = ActiveCell.Column

'Name of worksheet "MonthlyReceivedClaims_Data" start at Row 1 Column 1
'and end at ":R" & lngLastRowNum & "C" & lngLastCol